Hang in there…

A phrase that my fellow PhD study buddy uses a lot when we sign off from our latest Skype chat.

Whilst I’ve been working on amendments I’ve seen others in my cohort have their viva, make corrections and make their final submission.  It’s great to see progression, and frustrating that I’ve not made quicker progress.

As soon as the deadline for the graduation in December passed, the imminent pressure was off.  It’s not as if I’ve been sitting at home twitting my thumbs since September, I thought that 2013 was my toughest year, it’s been a walk in the park compared to this Summer.

I have managed to get away for a Winter break to Gran Canaria though, which I really, really needed.

IMG_2182

And I’m really close to getting my amendments sorted, the plan is to resubmit at the end of November, then if there are any major issues I still have Christmas to sort out again.  So overall it will have taken me five years to do my PhD, when I was absolutely, positively determined that it would take no more than four years.

But, life throws stones, and occasional boulders at you.  I’m not beating myself up too much about this.  I’m delighted to say that I will get to present my findings at the PedRIO conference, not at Rio as the name might lead you to expect, but in Plymouth which is (almost) as nice.

The Thesis Whisperer has been a constant companion through my study, and whilst I don’t always agree with what is posted, this timely post yesterday about what to do as you come to the end rings bells with me.

OK, enough displacement activity.  These final points won’t get sorted by themselves, so time to close down the browser and open Word up for the umpteenth time.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

