Best Laid Plans

Sorry for the silence.  I’ve just reviewed my last posting made on the 5th August, such a lot has changed since then.

I’m determined to keep this blog focused on the PhD journey, but sometimes things from the outside world come along and throw you a curve ball.  For me the care of my Father, and his subsequent death from a particularly nasty form of cancer on the first of September has been a blow that it’s taking me a long time to recover from.

So despite some time off, I was unable to do a fraction of the required amendments required.  It’s now very very unlikely I’ll get to graduation in December, and I’ll be looking at December 2015 instead.  More time to prepare and sort out hotels.

I’m not there yet, but I have spent the longest time in a long long time concentrating on work in my study today.  It’s the lack of concentration that’s really bugging me at the moment, I can’t focus on anything for any length of time.  Not good when you’re an academic and to some extent paid to think (or reply to emails, almost the same thing).

I’ll post an update once I’m back in the saddle.

Leave a Reply

