Viva Lancaster!

It doesn’t feel a month since I submitted my thesis.  A lot has happened.

Firstly the PhD stuff.  The date for my viva was confirmed as the 30th July, between my two holidays.  At the time I thought this was going to be too far away. In reality it’s perfect timing for me.  I’ve been able to take a break from my thesis, and will start looking again on the 1st July.

I’ve also sorted out a mock viva with my supervisor.  As our relationship hasn’t been the closest, this mock viva will be a good test for me, as I don’t know either my external or internal examiner well at all, their selection is entirely based upon their association with the subject of my research.

I’ve been fortunate that someone else in our cohort has gone through the process before, and has been able to offer some helpful tips, ones which I intend to take on board.  I’m also supporting another cohort member as he goes through the process, so I’ll be the third to pass through the process.

I’m nervous, I think this is a good thing though, and I will be as well prepared as I can be.

But other things have kept me busy.  One thing that appears trivial but isn’t is a throbbing tooth and chronic toothache.  Three attempts have been made to extract it, and all have failed so far.  As I type I’m dosed up on antibiotics, paracetamol and ibuprofen and it’s still a dull ache.  The next attempt at a new surgery will be with sedation, which will be an interesting experience, the last time I was sedated for anything was when I was four years old – also at the dentist but for significantly smaller teeth.

And with a sense of timing only possible in Kafka-esque novels, four days after I submitted a close family relative (and I’ve only got two surviving blood relatives) was diagnosed with cancer.  We’re averaging a visit every ten days to the hospital as diagnosis and treatment plans are devised.

That, plus a workload at work that feels pretty relentless has made for a very stressed Andy over the last month, and with no immediate sign of the situation improving in the short term.  I’ve had these periods before, and I’m sure I will pass, but let’s hope that I can soon start to see some light at the end of the tunnel.

Leave a Reply

