The end of the beginning

Following a weekend off the PhD, it was time to get back to polishing the draft.  My supervisor has agreed a time that I should send my draft to him, and we’ve also set some other deadlines.

Today I went through the 177(!) references that I have, and for those that I have a copy of the papers, I’ve moved them to their own folder, naming them something meaningful,  The next thing is to source the ones that I’ve not got (in reality I’m sure I’ve got a copy, but I’ve ‘filed’ them under something else or their text is not searchable for some reason).

I guess the big news of the week is that I’ve secured an external examiner.  I had a ‘wish list’ of what I wanted from the one person who will be completely independent at my viva.  A knowledge of the context in which the study took place, and someone who might empathise with what I was trying to do were top of the list.  My supervisor offered some advice, and was then pro-active making contact with our agreed first choice.

We are now looking for a suitable internal examiner.  My thesis straggles both education and business, and we’ve discussed having someone from the Business School from Lancaster as an internal examiner.  We’re still discussing options, but I’m still really comforted that we have a good external examiner all set to read my thesis, once complete.

Someone else who is close to submitting their PhD is Mark Carrigan, and in this post he writes about a difference sort of procrastination.  He also has the cutest GIF ever created to make his point which you have to view.  I hope he doesn’t mind if I add it here.

Let’s make one thing clear, there’s only one reason I want to keep hold of my green ball, and that’s fear that someone is going to take my green ball and puncture it, be that a supervisor or one of my examiners at my viva.  Some of my cohort who are also close to completion are struggling with the final revisions needed, and I’m sure that I will too when I get there.

To quote Churchill

Now this is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning.

 

 

Leave a Reply

