Unexpected delays

The last weekend should have been a really productive one, and the last totally focused upon PhD before the big fat man with the long white beard pays us a visit.

In fact, Santa came early for me.  As mentioned before, I’ve been made redundant from the Open University due to falling numbers, and I was determined that I would spend my redundancy payment on a new desktop for my home… I actually wanted to also buy myself a Chromebook, but that’s been thwarted by the withdrawal of the product that I wanted to treat myself to.

So, I’m typing this on a 27″ iMac, with enough disc storage to store most of my local library on, with a processor that makes me go ‘wow’ each time it starts up.  I know some regular readers of my blog are dismissive of Apple products, but for me they just work, leaving me to focus on what I need to do, namely work.

Anyhow, I’m getting distracted.

Back to last week, and a GP appointment that told me what I already knew, that my high BP and high cholesterol readings needed medication.  I therefore started taking the tablets at the recommended dose, not from the GP, but a dispensing nurse.

Then, the fun started… firstly the insomnia, then the headaches.  It took me a week to realise that it wasn’t my new toy that was causing me the headaches, but in fact the statins.  A quick Google confirmed this, I can’t confirm this with my GP as I’m still awaiting a call back from them.

This effectively wiped out the weekend, I did some Uni work on Saturday before I succumbed, but Sunday was a write-off, mostly spent in bed with a cool-pack attached to my head.

I’m trying to get back on the horse, but I feel I’m being bucked off (that’s not a typo) each time I feel I’m making progress.  Christmas will be a delicate balance of keeping in touch with family and friends, but also having to do work on my PhD.  One thing that I won’t have to worry about juggling though is PhD and Uni work, as I’ve got a full fortnight off.

I’ve had some good chats with other students in my cohort recently, some are doing ‘better’ than me, others not so far advanced.  But we’re each running our own marathons, divergence was going to happen.

In case I don’t post again before the big day, can I wish everyone a great Christmas, and super and productive start to 2014.

One comment

Leave a Reply

