Hello thesis my old friend…

…I’ve come to talk to you again.

I’m just over two months into my four month intercalation, or break from PhD.  During that time I’ve taken a proper break, and have found it surprisingly easy not to think about it, most of the time.

Well, almost a proper break.  I had some interviews scheduled at the start of July, which needed transcribing, which I did before my summer holiday.

But all good things come to an end, and I need to get my PhD mojo back on. Rather than jumping in on the first of November at 90mph, I’ve decided on a slow but sure approach, starting this weekend.  I’m dusting off the PhD folder, and opening my thesis with the freshest pair of eyes possible.  I’m sure, reading through the work so far there will be some of my own writing that will make me cringe.  I’ll note what I revise with ‘track changes’, and then reflect on the changes.  I want to send all of my work in progress to my supervisor mid-October, ready for the start of November.

I also need to get reading again.  Not ‘fun’ reading (which I’ve done a lot of), but academic reading which is a whole different ball game.  This reading will mostly be to do with my Methodology chapter, which has had more false starts than an Olympic swimming event.

Meanwhile, a few things have happened whilst I’ve been away from the blog.  My summer vacation was fun, a selection (of hundreds) of photos below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was also due to restart my tutoring with the Open University.  I’ve had a long relationship with the OU, I studied for my first degree between 1994 and 2000, and from 2000 onwards I have tutored a total of five different technology courses (modules) with them.  I took a leave of absence this year as I wanted to concentrate on my PhD (which worked well, at least until July!).  However, student number have dropped significantly on the module that I teach, so a nineteen-year relationship comes to an end this month. There may be a silver lining to the cloud, but I’ll explain more on that once it’s all confirmed.

I’m very nervous about starting again, even though I’m giving myself the longest of warm-up times possible.  When the starting pistol fires I’ve got seven months to get my PhD put to bed, a big task.  But with the right support, I’m sure I can.

Leave a Reply

