Supervisor Feedback

In-between Skype calls and face-to-face interviews, my supervisor has been great in providing feedback on ‘work in progress’.  Early on in the process this was sometimes difficult to take on board, but if the first stage of the PhD taught me anything, it was the requirement to have broad shoulders.

But there is still some trepidation in sending a completed chapter off for scrutiny, to the extent that when I received the feedback yesterday afternoon, I didn’t open the file until today, as yesterday evening I was ‘in the zone’ writing narrative case records, and didn’t want to lose focus.

And the feedback? Really positive and encouraging.  Yes, there were a couple of slips in language use, and a section which I gave a long preamble for but not actually delivered upon, but the key concepts, including the (for me) challenging theoretical framework and contextualisation were understood.  I’ve also managed to maintain the organisation’s anonymity which is crucial for me.

So today has been spent addressing these issues (mostly rephrasing, rewording, and getting rid of the ‘casual’ language that I slip into when I get deeply into a particular topic), and I’m in the middle of writing the missing section.

All in, I’m feeling a lot more positive about the experience than I have for a long time.  It’s a marathon, not a sprint, but I think I’ve just passed an refreshment post.

Leave a Reply

