Up-Goer Five

An interesting experiment.

It all starts with XKCD, a thrice weekly cartoon that I and a lot of friends regularly subscribe to. Indeed, it’s the only thing that makes Monday, Wednesday and Friday worth getting up for sometimes.

The artist described the Saturn V rocket using the thousand words that people use most often.

Someone ran with this idea, and allowed you to write (or post) any text into a box and see if it was Up-Goer Five compatible.

So, here’s my first attempt at describing my PhD using the thousand words that people use most often.

I am writing a long thing on my computer (five times ten times ten hundred) words about how other people write shorter things on their computers.

The things that other people write are about themselves and what they have done in the past, and what they want to do. This could be words or pictures that they are putting into the computer.

I am also writing about how the place that they work for uses both the people and the things that they write on computers.

When all of these things are put together they are called a computer book, and people can decide who sees what is in the computer book. I think that this computer book can be good for the person and the place that they work for. I do not know yet if this is so.

I talk to the people three times in a year and write down all that they tell me.

I have been writing the long thing on my computer for three years, and I will be writing the long thing on my computer for another year. Then I will talk about the long thing which will then be a book in front of two people who I do not know, then if I know my long thing on my computer well enough then I can call myself doctor.

2 comments

  1. simon.stanford@facebook.com

    This is brilliant. I especially chuckled at the phrase “I do not know yet if this is so.” It’s your equivalent of ” you will not go to space today”

Leave a Reply

