Under the weather

The best laid plans of mice and men and all that…  I’ve been laid up since late boxing day with the norovirus, also called the winter vomiting bug.  That probably tells you all that you need to know about this, but just in case more details can be found here.

I’m not alone, I’ve never had a disease that’s had so much coverage at the time of writing.  If anyone else is suffering, then I sympathise.  It’s a rotten thing to get, the only saving grace is that it’s a 24/48 hour thing maximum.  I’m well on the road to recovery, though not actually eating anything yet and with muscular pain from retching, I’ll survive.

What’s this to do with my PhD though?  Well, it means this is the first time I’ve been able to put finger to keyboard over the festive season, and I do feel that I’ve let studies slip.  I had a good day before the celebrations, but need to do more. I do have a fair few days after new year, when (assuming I’m fighting fit by then) I hope to crack on.

Leave a Reply

